TWD: Chunky Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Chocolate Chipsters

I have done very little baking this summer, due to my hectic summer schedule, and it shows! My cookie jar had been empty so long it was dusty. That is not the way to start a new school year! So I was very happy to see that Stephany of Proceed with Caution chose Chunky Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Chocolate Chipsters for this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie, which just happened to coincide with the first day of school. (Yes, technically, today is Wednesday, but let’s pretend I wrote this yesterday.) I was feeling a little ambivalent about starting school again, but boy did it ever help to know that I could finally reach into the cookie jar for a little pick-me-up when I got home! Perfect back to school cookies!

The only chance I made to the recipe was to use natural peanut butter despite the recipe specifically saying not to. I couldn’t see any reason that it would hurt the cookies, and have you ever read the ingredient list of unnatural peanut butter? It’s like a mile long! While I don’t have anything to compare them to, I think the natural peanut butter worked just fine.

4 Comments »

  1. Lori said

    they’re gorgeous! doesn’t look like the natural PB hurt at all. i wondered about that too….

  2. Rebecca said

    These look great! You probably got more peanut butter flavor with the natural stuff. The preservative-laden kind is pretty subtle. ;)

  3. Jules said

    Empty cookie jars are so sad. Glad you enjoyed these!

  4. Kim said

    Your cookies look great…I am afraid to look at the ingredient list on a lot of my foods. I should though.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

