TWD: Black and White Banana Cake

Chocolate and banana is one of my very favorite flavor combinations. It all stems from a cake that my mom made much more frequently than she wanted to when I was growing up, black bottom banana cake. My poor mother, it was one of those recipes that she tried and didn’t like very much, but it was a huge hit with my sisters and me. She ended up making it all the time, even though she hated it. So I was very happy to see that this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe was the Black and White Banana Cake, a marbled pound cake play on my favorite treat from childhood.

Black and White Banana Cake

The highlight of the cake was the rum, mainly because I was able to purchase it myself! I turned 21 last week, so I was pretty excited to be able to go into the liquor store myself. Up until now, I’ve been sending John to the liquor store for me every time I need alcohol for cooking, which is just plain annoying. Even now that I’m of legal age, I half expected the clerk to come running after me as I left the store to take back my rum! Buying alcohol still feels like breaking the rules.

I was also pretty excited to marble the cake, which isn’t something I’ve ever done before. It didn’t look nearly as nice as Dorie’s, but I think I accidentally added too much of the batter to the chocolate. Oh well, I supposed that means I’ll have to practice my marbling! Although this cake couldn’t hold a candle to my favorite black-bottom banana cake, it was really good as long as I tried not to compare the two!

This week’s pick was from Ashlee of A Year in the Kitchen, and you can find the recipe on her blog.

10 Comments »

  1. Caitlin said

    I tend to “accidentally” add chocolate to too much of the batter in a marbled cake. Oops :) Beautiful loaf though, and a great reason to legally buy alcohol!

  2. Erin said

    This looks great! I was excited when I turned 21 a couple years ago and could finally buy alcohol for cooking and baking :)

  3. CB said

    Definitely one of the perks of turning 21! Booze! No such thing as too much chocolate right? Great job!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  4. Esther said

    Your marble looks fantastic!

  5. nickki said

    Your banana loaf look delicious. Lovely marbling :)

  6. Rebecca said

    Happy birthday! Have you hit your mom up for her recipe yet? ;)

  7. Jules said

    That looks lovely. Rum is good. ;-)

  8. Michelle said

    That looks amazing! Great job. :-)

  9. Prudence said

    Great job!! Happy Birthday!! It is fun going to the liquor store for the first time, isn’t it???

  10. misspecs said

    Yummmyy… this look so delicious… I’ve got this sudden craving for banana cake. I’m gonna bake one right now!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

