TWD: Apple Cheddar Scones

Apparently this isn’t a popular position, but I love having overnight guests. Even though my apartment is basically never company-clean, I love fussing around all day cooking and cleaning to get ready for company. But without a doubt, my favorite part of having friends stay the night is the excuse to make breakfast in the morning. That’s why I love the breakfast chapter of Baking, and it was a serious struggle to decide which recipe to pick for my long awaited Tuesdays with Dorie turn. It came down to Glorious Morning muffins or the Apple Cheddar Scones. I went with the scones, since I’ve never gotten around to making scones before. Dorie didn’t disappoint (holy alliteration!) and these scones were all kinds of delicious. Plus, I was lucky enough to have a guest staying with us to share them with!

Apple Cheddar Scones

My favorite fall snack, during the peak of apple season, is apple slices with smoked gouda melted over them. To die for! So I had no doubt the apple cheddar combination would be fantastic in scones. But I was pleasantly surprised at how good the dough encompassing the apple and cheddar was. The cornmeal gave it both flavor and texture, and the scone was ever so fluffy and moist. As Dorie said, they were at their very best straight from the oven, but even the single solitary one that survived until the next morning was still yummy. These will definitely be going into our regular breakfast rotation!

Apple Cheddar Scones

Baking: From My Home to Yours

Ingredients:

1 large egg
1/2 cup cold buttermilk
1/4 cup cold apple cider or unsweetened apple juice
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup yellow cornmeal, preferably stone-ground
2 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 stick (8 tablespoons) cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
3/4 cup grated cheddar cheese
1/2 cup finely diced dried apples

Preparation

Getting reading: Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment or a silicone mat.

Stir the egg, buttermilk and apple cider together

Whisk the flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt together in a large bowl. Drop in the butter and, using your fingers, toss to coat the pieces of butter with flour. Quickly, working with your fingertips or a pastry blender, cut and rub the butter into the dry ingredients until the mixture is pebbly. You’ll have pea-size pieces, pieces the size of oatmeal flakes and pieces the size of everything in between – and that’s just right.

Pour the liquid ingredients over the dry ingredients and stir with a fork just until the dough, which will be very wet and sticky, comes together. If there are still some dry ingredients in the bottom of the bowl, stir them in, but try not to overdo the mixing. Stir in the grated cheese and dried apple.

Still in the bowl, gently knead the dough by hand, or turn it with a rubber spatula 8 to 10 times. Then, because the dough is very sticky, the easiest thing to do is to turn it out onto a lightly floured work surface, pat it into a rectangle about 1/2 inch thick and, using a dough scraper or a chef’s knife, cut it into 12 roughly equal pieces; place on the baking sheet. Alternatively, you can just spoon out 12 equal mounds onto the baking sheet. (At this point, the scones can be frozen on the backing sheet, then wrapped airtight. Don’t defrost before baking – just add about 2 minutes to the baking time.)

Bake the scones for 20 to 22 minutes, or until their tops are golden and firmish. Transfer them to a rack and cool for 10 minutes before serving, or wait for the scones to cool to room temperature.

55 Comments »

  1. Barbara said

    Thanks so much for choosing this recipe, Karina — it was delicious!

  2. Erin said

    Thanks for choosing this week’s recipe. I really enjoyed making them. Your scones look delicious!

  3. Gotta love holy alliteration. :) What a yummy and easy guest breakfast this would be. Wonderful choice, I quite enjoyed it.

  4. Kelly D said

    Glad you enjoyed your recipe. It is always nice to have someone to share the fruits of your baking.

  5. kim said

    your scone looks great and i’m glad you (& your guest!) enjoyed your pick!

  6. Annemarie said

    Excellent, excellent choice! We loved them here, too!!

  7. Thanks for a great choice! I must admit I was a little hesitant at first…but not after eating these yummy creations! Your scones look great!!

  8. Mara said

    Thanks for a nice choice this week! I did apricot cheddar and at first I wasn’t sure but they tasted pretty darn good! I hope they taste as good tomorrow morning for breakfast.

  9. […] Cheddar Scones recipe can be found here and in Dorie Greenspan’s book Baking From My Home to […]

  10. Steph said

    Thanks for choosing this recipe, it was a fun first TWD. I never thought I would like scones, but maybe I’ve just been having the wrong ones!

  11. Jessica said

    Thanks for a great recipe – I really enjoyed the scones more than I thought I would. Yours look wonderful!

  12. Amanda said

    I LOVE THIS RECIPE and I probably wouldn’t have made it on my own. Thanks for the great choice. I love overnight guests, too :-)

  13. Madam Chow said

    Thanks for choosing this – BIG hit at my house. BIG.

  14. A&N said

    Hi, thanks for this recipe. It looks really delicious! Apple and Cheddar sounds like an interesting combination to try. I am surprised that a scone actually survived until next morning ;)

  15. […] Karina has posted the recipe. […]

  16. Teanna said

    These were fantastic and yours looks beautiful! Thanks for the great breakfast selection!

  17. Thanks for picking this recipe, we really enjoyed the scones. Yours also looks inviting.

    Ulrike from Küchenlatein

  18. Mary Ann said

    Thanks for a great tasting, easy pick. They look wonderful!

  19. Carmella said

    Thanks for choosing this recipe! Definitely one of my favorites from Dorie’s book!

  20. LyB said

    These are going to be a regular breakfast treat here too! Thanks for choosing this recipe, I loved these scones!

  21. Katie B. said

    Terrific choice! These are definitely going to make it into my regular breakfast rotation!

  22. April B said

    Thanks for choosing such a delicious recipe! I loved my scones!

  23. heather b said

    thanks for the great pick! They were delicious! Definitely on my make again list! Yours look great!

  24. Em said

    I never would have made these if you hadn’t picked them. They really are so much better than I ever expected. Thanks so much!

  25. Di said

    Great recipe choice this week! This was one of the recipes I considered when I was making my pick, so I’m glad to have a chance to make it so soon. I loved the apple and cheddar combo, but I also considered using gouda instead of the cheddar. I’ll have to try that and compare the two.

  26. […] For the full recipe, visit Karina of The Floured Apron. […]

  27. nickki said

    Thanks for choosing such a great recipe! I have been wanting to make these delicious scones ever since I got Dorie’s book. They definitely lived up to expectations. Your scones look lovely :)

  28. Susan said

    Thanks for the pick – I would have never made these on my own!

  29. Laura said

    Wow I went a different way this week but with all the rave reviews I may just have to try them now! Yours look great!

  30. Dolores said

    I too love overnight guests… and the opportunity to feed them twice. :) Thank you for choosing such a sensational recipe… I’ve never made scones before either and had much fun with these.

  31. Caitlin said

    Thanks for such a wonderful pick – I absolutely loved them! And I’m one of the weird ones too, I love having weekend guests even in my tiny apartment!

  32. Cat said

    Thanks for picking these apple and cheese scones. I would never have made these if it wasn’t for you. It was fun to make something them and take a step out of th box. I made them yesterday and tasted them. Today, I heated one up in the microwave. It was still fresh and ever so yummy. Next time though, I’ll add a bit more salt and maybe some dried cherries.

  33. Kayte said

    Thanks for picking these…great choice, we loved them! It was also nice to have a rather easy recipe this week as we have been very busy. Yours look just wonderful. Very beautiful.

  34. pamela said

    Thank you for choosing this recipe, Karina. I’ve only made scones a couple of times and now that I’ve done these, I’m looking forward to making them more often. By the way, the smoked gouda on an apple sounds DELICIOUS!!

  35. Rebecca said

    Apple and smoked gouda?!? I’ll be right over, with suitcase. ;)

  36. Anne said

    What a great choice, they were delicious!

  37. Lynne said

    Great pick for TWD. The smoked gouda sounds great.

  38. Jon the Guest said

    Very, very good :)

  39. Jaime said

    thanks for picking this recipe, i had never made scones before either….though now it’s been pointed out to me that scones and biscuits are more or less the same thing, so maybe i have made them before ;) either way, they were delicious!

  40. Great pick. These were a great scone basics that you could play around with however you liked.

  41. Emily said

    The scones look great!

    “Dorie didn’t disappoint” – does she ever? Haha. I just bought her Baking book and have called it my Baking Bible.

    I’ll have to try the apple and gouda combo; my absolute favorite cheese would be smoked gouda.

  42. […] Apple Scones for breakfast this past weekend.  The scones were selected as a TWD pick by Karina at The Floured Apron back in June. If you are interested in the recipe you can find it on her […]

  43. Alexwebmaster said

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

  44. Jelli Bean said

    I also LOVE having overnight guests. It’s a fun excuse to really tidy up the house and clean those nooks and crannies that you’ve been avoiding. I love making breakfast too!

  45. Oh my god loved reading your post. I submitted your rss to my reader!!

  46. […] get the payoff; not this time, baby. I used this very luscious Dorie Greenspan recipe as a base (apple cheddar scones…but you should really buy the book Baking, I kid you not). I exchanged orange juice for the […]

  47. […] This week’s Tuesdays With Dorie selection, Apple Cheddar Scones, which was made by Karina at The Floured Apron, would serve as a perfect […]

  48. These look great, I have always loved the cheese and apple combo. This is a constant snack choice in our house. This would be a fun way to try that with a spin.

  49. […] had this version of a recipe bookmarked since last fall, and was finally persuaded when Deb of Smitten Kitchen, one […]

  50. […] perfect with these scones. 1/2 of the recipe gave me about 6 really good sized scones. Thanks to The Floured Apron who loves breakfast and choose these for us to bake July 1, 2008. You can find the recipe on her […]

  51. […] You can find the recipe on the scones post of the original TWD host, The Floured Apron, or you can buy the book and have this and all of the […]

  52. _TWD: Apple Cheddar Scones The Floured Apron_ was indeed a great blog post
    and therefore I personally was very glad to read it.
    Thanks for the post,Georgiana

  53. Reed said

    Everything is very open with a really clear explanation of the challenges.

    It was definitely informative. Your site is useful. Many thanks for sharing!

  54. If some one wishes to be updated with most up-to-date
    technologies after that he must be pay a quick visit this web page and be
    up to date all the time.

  55. […] Recipe provided by A Floured Apron, as created by Dorie Greenspan and published in Baking: From My Home to Yours […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

